What do you do?

I have been asked this many times in my life by people wanting to know about my profession or my preferred job interests. It has always been a bit hard to answer because I have done so many different jobs in the past thirty-five years or so. I am not going to go through the list here, but it is safe to say that I have had at least a dozen, maybe a few more, different jobs in that length of time. Some of them I enjoyed, and some I just tolerated until something else came along. Many people, it seems, have done the same because nobody stays in a job more than a few years unless they found a perfect match to begin with and just stuck with it.

The thing is that “what you do” is not who you really are, particularly on the inside. Sometimes the job that you find yourself doing is one that you have to do, not one that you want to do…and there is a BIG difference between those two. Many people it seems, especially in our economy today, HAVE to take a job that they didn’t study for but it will pay the bills for a time.

I went to college to get a job in the medical field because I thought it would be a stable job and one that, hopefully, I could retire from one day. WRONG! Internal politics and whether you are liked by the right people has a lot to do with how long your job lasts, whether it is a stable and necessary job or not. If you are curious about what job I studied for, it was Medical Technology (a fancy sounding term for a lab technician).

Later, when I was told that I needed to find something else to do, I began doing something that I liked doing…working on computers. I once told my boss’s wife that I would do it for free but that doesn’t pay many bills. I still do it occasionally, but most people just go and buy a new laptop when their desktop quits now. That is the difference between doing something that you HAVE to do and something that you WANT to do and LIKE doing.

That is why I enjoy writing here, because I get to tell people about my Savior and that He wants to be your Savior too. Jesus loves you far more than you can imagine and it can make a HUGE difference in your life, not only here but into eternity. Especially into eternity! Why do I say it that way? Because Satan is telling people that they have all the time in the world to make that decision, an in reality we don’t.

Just as the rich man who said that he was going to build some bigger barns to hold his stock and then retire and take it easy. That very night God said, “Thou fool, your soul is required tonight.” He didn’t know and had thought that he had time to get his life straight, that is not the case for many of us. Some of us can because of disease, but you really aren’t given your next sunrise! Seek God and His righteousness now while there is time, ask Him to come into your life and make it whole.

If your life ends tonight or tomorrow and you haven’t made that decision, then your time is up. You will be standing before God when He asks you, “What did you do with my Son?” What kind of answer will you give? Think about it.

One thought on “What do you do?

  1. Pingback: What do you do? | Christians Anonymous

Leave a Reply

