Success in failure

You might want to ask me “How does that work?”. Success in this life, as many people see it today, means that you are successful…period. You have graduated from school, whether it is high school or college or even medical school, you have made it. That is the first step on the road to success. Then, there is the debt that you owe for that education which you are saddled with to pay off, what a bummer. Depending on the size of the debt, your payment could take years and most of your hard-earned money if you get a job.

We were usually told by parents and teachers and counselors that a college education was the ticket, the way up and out. Not anymore it seems. So how can you become successful in life when so few jobs exist for college educated people? I don’t have that answer, I have a BS in Clinical Lab Science and one word from a person that didn’t like me put a black mark on my record that has kept me from working in that field for seven years. The only job that I have held for any length of time since ’07 was as a computer technician.

I did work in a hospital lab for about seven or eight years but it should have been my ticket to retirement, at least that was what I had hoped.

Why am I telling you this? Because, my college education didn’t fail me nor did my job. I failed at sucking up to the right people. I had the unfortunate malady of speaking my mind when I should have kept my mouth shut. Life sucks sometimes. Failure sucks. That being said, I didn’t fail really, my circumstances were changed because I had another place to be, another job that I was required to do, and it had nothing to do with a hospital.

The reason for my rant? Mainly, to point you toward a life that is filled with promise and hope. I had begun to draw close to and seek God in His Word, which was frowned upon at my job. It wasn’t impacting my performance, but they could see me doing it on my breaks and it irritated them for some reason.

Even doing this on my breaks was too much for some, but enough about my old job. Success is a state of mind that you have when you are comfortable with your place…your station in life. Even though your success may hinge on something far less than satisfaction or comfort, it doesn’t mean that you have to stay in that area. Seek God out in His Word. Why do I say something like this in the middle of a rant about jobs and success?

Because…all of the “self-help” books and courses that are available to you won’t help you if you don’t believe what they tell you and the reason I say this is because all of their wisdom and truth is found in God’s Word, the Bible. I have read many self-help books, listened to CD’s and every word of wisdom in them can be found in the Bible, specifically in Psalms and Proverbs and Ecclesiastes.

Your success in this life, even though many don’t want to believe this, is dependent on following God and His will. How can you do this? By drawing closer to Him, learning about Him, seeking Him in His Word. There are some who will say that “my business or job has nothing to do with God”. Then you need to find another business or job!

It is true ,in some jobs, that some vocations are incompatible with being a servant of God but you can serve Him regardless of where you work as long as what you are doing isn’t illegal or immoral. A janitor can serve Jesus just as a garbage man can. A police person or firefighter can serve God in their job, I would think even more effectively because they need His protection while they are doing their jobs.

It doesn’t matter what job that you have, if you are or become a Christian then you can serve Jesus in that job if it doesn’t make you uncomfortable to do so. If it does, then you need to look for something else. God loves you and wants you to be successful in this life. That is a message that many don’t hear in church, but its true.

Consider how Joseph, with his coat of many colors, went from being sold as a slave then falsely accused and thrown in prison, to being second only to Pharoah in power and authority. Why? Because he didn’t live in a pity party, he prayed and humbled himself to God and allowed God to direct him in everything that he did. God does love you and wants the best, His best, for you. It might not be a mansion here, but you will have one in Heaven. It may not be a fancy car or a fat bank account here, but you will walk on streets made of gold in Heaven.

Our life is short, even at one hundred years, compared to eternity. Think about that when you get out of school or may be looking for a job. Every child, every person is important to God regardless of where you may be or what your situation is. Seek Him out and learn of His goodness and mercy to us all, then live your life here according to His principles of success

One thought on “Success in failure

Leave a Reply

